Whole wheat orzo salad with strawberries, arugula, and pecans

You all are going to love this salad.

I recently went back home to Florida for my last spring break as a college student ever. Depressing, right? I guess I shouldnt be too sad considering it has taken me four FIVE years to finish my bachelors degree. Spring break has always been my favorite break we got in school. The weather is always perfect in Florida and its like being able to go on a vacation, but really I am just going home. I’m from such a beautiful place and I’m so lucky that I get to go back there so frequently during the year.

Anyways, I went back to my home and my second night there, I decided to make the AMAZING salad for my parents. It is so delicious and can be eaten hot, cold, room temperature, off of the floor…this salad is to die.

Ingredients
How Sweet It Is

1 lb Whole wheat orzo (you can use regular if you can’t find WW)
1 red onion sliced thin
1 bag of arugula
1/2 cup toasted pecans
1 cup strawberries (quartered)
1 cup balsamic vinegar
1 T brown sugar
olive oil
goat cheese (optional)

Boil water for pasta and cook pasta until it’s cooked, but still slightly firm.

Add balsamic vinegar and brown sugar to a sauce pan over medium high heat and bring to a boil. Boil this mixture until it has reduced to a syrupy consistency. Should take about 10-15 minutes.

Heat a sauté pan over medium heat and add 1/4 cup olive oil and red onion. Cook slowly, until onions are soft and beginning to caramelize. Set aside.

Once pasta is cooked, remove from water and add to serving bowl. Add in your strawberries, toasted pecans, arugula and caramelized onion and mix with pasta. Pour balsamic mixture over the pasta and mix until all ingredients are coated. If the pasta looks a little dry, add some olive oil to it. You can top this with goat cheese which gives it a really nice taste, but if you don’t like goat cheese, just leave it out.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

