Turkey Enchiladas

Today was a great day. I made my weekly trip to Trader Joe’s and I FINALLY found their amazing Speculoos Cookie Butter. You have no idea, I have been searching for this for months! I am so excited. Right when I got home, I dug into it with a spoon – don’t judge 🙂 This stuff is sooo good! It has the texture of peanut butter, with the flavor of a gingerbread cookie. You need to buy it. Go. NOW!

Anyways, after all of that excitement at Trader Joe’s, I came home and made some enchiladas. These were so good – best I’ve ever made. I switched it up a little and used some ground turkey and whole wheat tortillas to make them a little healthier, and then I found a can of black beans and some corn so I threw those in too. These enchiladas are so good and super filling. Two of them are definitely enough for one person, but the entire recipe makes enough for a whole family.

Even though Monday’s notoriously stink, today was a pretty great day 🙂

Ingredients

1 lb ground turkey breast
1 16 oz can black beans
8 oz tomato sauce
1 packet of enchilada seasoning (or enchilada sauce)
1 1/2 cups frozen corn
1 T green chilis
1 cup water
1 1/2 cups cheddar cheese (I used reduced fat, but any cheese will work)
1 package whole wheat tortillas
avocado
cilantro
greek yogurt

Pour one cup of water into bowl and dissolve all of the enchilada seasoning into it. Set aside

In a large saute pan, brown turkey over medium/high heat until it is cooked all the way through. Once your turkey is cooked, add 1 cup of the seasoning and your tomato sauce to it and let it come to a boil. Add in your corn and black beans and cook until the corn and beans are warmed all the way through. Remove from the heat and add 1/2 cup of cheese and stir to combine. Set aside.

To assemble the enchiladas, lay one tortilla flat and pour 3 tablespoons of filling into the middle of the tortilla. Roll them up lengthwise.
Add 1/2 of the remaining seasoning sauce to a baking dish and layer your enchiladas in one single layer. Once all of the enchiladas are in the baking dish, cover with remaining 1/2 of seasoning sauce and 1 cup of shredded cheddar cheese. Place in the oven and bake for 20 minutes – until the filling is hot and the cheese is melted.

Top with any toppings you like – I used avocado, some non-fat plain Greek yogurt, and cilantro.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

