Juicing

Recently, I have been hearing so much about juice diets. I’m not one for fad diets and I truly believe that a diet rich in fruits and vegetables with the occasional lean protein will keep you healthy forever. But so many people have been jumping on the juice bandwagon and after some consideration and research, I figured that I would give it a try. Since I had been really curious about this, I thought I would make a post about it incase any of you were wondering about juicing as well.

Usually, people do these juice diets as a way to detox. It is really great if you have a special occasion to attend and need to drop some pounds fast, but it is also something great to do every so often as a way to cleanse your body. Although there is no scientific research to prove this, some people have chosen to do these juice fasts as a way to heal them from certain medical ailments (migraines, depression, etc.).

Anyways, there is this really great health store/market here in Charlotte that I have driven by so many times, but never stopped in. I had heard that they have a great juice bar so today I went over there and tried one out. I got a juice that contained carrots, celery, ginger, lemon, and one apple. It was interesting. This is the type of drink that I definitely think grows on you after a while. It could be something that I eventually developed a liking to, but it could take some time 😉 .

The flavors in the juice that I got were more savory than anything else. The carrot and celery really came through, but the apple not so much. I didn’t get much of a ginger flavor either. The lemon was definitely a present flavor which actually helped add some sweetness to the drink. Next time I might take the celery out and add something like spinach or kale – which don’t have very strong flavors. I will definitely have to give juicing another try because it really is a great healthy way to sneak in some extra fruits and veggies throughout the day.

I would be really curious to hear if any of you have tried a juice diet. Any flavor recommendations would be awesome!

I hope this was helpful and informative for anyone considering juicing 🙂

Leave a Reply

