Peanut butter banana oat bars

Peanut butter and banana is probably my favorite combination. Everyday, for a snack, I eat a piece of toasted sprouted bread topped with peanut butter and bananas. It is such a good flavor combo and any chance I get I try to think of new ways to enjoy these flavors!

Yesterday I bought like 15 bananas at Trader Joe’s. I am always using them up so quickly and then I run out and then I can’t make my favorite snack. Sad day. But then I realized, once I got home, that I will never use all of these bananas before they start to get really brown. So I baked a snack.

These oat bars are amazing. Super flavorful and I added some dark chocolate which made them even better.

If you are anything like me and can’t get enough of peanut butter and bananas, then this is a recipe you will definitely need to try!

Ingredients
Adapted from Gingerbread Bagels

1 1/2 cup quick cooking oats
1/4 cup sugar in the raw
1 Tbl agave
1 tsp baking powder
pinch of salt
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup milk
1 egg
1 lage banana, mashed
1/4 cup peanut butter
Chocolate chips (optional)

In a large bowl combine oats, sugar, agave, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and vanilla extract. Then add in milk and egg. Stir to combine.

Add mashed banana and peanut butter and combine thoroughly. Place into a greased 9×13 baking. Bake in oven for 20-25 minutes, or until baked all the way through.

Let cool for 20 minutes and then cut into squares.

Enjoy!!

Leave a comment