Mixed berry smoothie with coconut milk

I love smoothies. I have been drinking them for breakfast every morning for months. I’ve tried a million different combinations, but there are a few that I have fallen in love with and continue to make all the time.

I also love coconut milk. I buy the light coconut milk from Trader Joe’s and it is so good. It has a really creamy consistency, but only 60 calories per serving and only 5 grams of fat! I used to make my smoothies with Greek yogurt and they were really good. Super creamy and the yogurt added a really nice tanginess to it which I really liked. But I was going through so much yogurt a week – and if you buy Greek yogurt, you know its not cheap.

Enter coconut milk.

I started adding coconut milk to my smoothies about two weeks ago and I don’t think I’ll be going back to Greek yogurt anytime soon. The coconut milk almost makes it taste like a pina colada, or something along those lines. It is so good.

Ingredients

1/2 banana (I freeze mine ahead of time and then I don’t need to add ice)
1 cup frozen berries (I use blackberries, raspberries, blueberries)
1 cup fresh spinach
1 T agave
2 T flax meal
1/4 cup coconut milk
1/4 cup water

Add all ingredients to your blender and puree until its a nice, smooth consistency.

Enjoy!!

One thought on “Mixed berry smoothie with coconut milk

  1. Pingback: Protein smoothie | The Hungry Table

Leave a Reply

