Whole wheat banana bread waffles


Brunch is my favorite meal of the day. I know, I know. Brunch isn’t really part of the normal, everyday meals – but it’s my favorite.


Whenever I go out for breakfast, on the way there I am thinking about all the omelets, pancakes, bacon, and muffins I want to eat. But, when I get there I want lunch instead. So, I’ll order a salad or a sandwich and then wish I had eaten breakfast.

Brunch is the most perfect excuse to eat breakfast and lunch in one sitting and not feel like you are being judged about it.

Tuesday isn’t really a “brunch” day of the week. Usually, Sundays are more appropriate for brunch. It’s a loungey, lazy, relaxing day and a late, leisurely breakfast is in order. Well, I’m living on the edge and making Tuesdays a brunch day. This should be a weekly occurrence.

These waffles are delicious. Soft on the inside, crispy on the outside. They are hearty because of the whole wheat flour, but also light with the addition of whipped egg whites. They would be the perfect addition to any brunch (or breakfast) table – served alongside some salad or sandwiches so you can eat two meals at once and be awesome like me!

Ingredients
adapted from Lauren’s Latest

1 cup skim milk
1 egg, separated
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
3 tablespoons canola oil or melted butter
1 very ripe banana, mashed
1 1/4 cups white whole wheat flour
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 cup chopped walnuts

Pre-heat your waffle iron.

Combine all dry ingredients in a large bowl. In a 2-cup measuring cup, add in milk, egg yolk, vanilla, oil, and banana. Create a well in the center of the flour mixture and pour in wet ingredients. Mix until just combined.

Using an electric hand mixer or wire whisk, beat egg whites until they reach stiff peaks (see picture above). Fold egg whites into batter – being careful not to deflate the egg whites.

Add in chopped walnuts.

Pour batter into waffle maker and cook until light and crispy. Serve immediately.

2 thoughts on “Whole wheat banana bread waffles

Leave a Reply

