The best cornbread

Cornbread is single handedly the best accompaniment to chili. Or at least I think it is. They are a perfect combination of flavors and textures and it’s a sad day when I have chili and don’t have cornbread to go along with it.

Today, I made some chili. Yes, I know. It is one-billion degrees outside and I am crazy for making a “cold weather comfort food” today. But I’ve been craving it and my siblings and I are home alone this weekend so we needed some “we want our mommy” comfort food.

Of course, I had to make some cornbread to go along with it. But, as most of you know by now I like to make my recipes as healthy as I can without sacrificing flavor.

Cornbread is generally a really fattening bread. It usually contains about a stick of butter and a good amount of white processed flour. This recipe is different. It has no butter or flour in it and is seriously so moist that you could eat it with a spoon if you really wanted to.

Ingredients

1 cup cornmeal
1/2 cup ground rolled oats (I just put mine in the food processor so they would be ground up)
1 egg
2/3 cup creamed corn
1 cup non-fat milk
2 Tbl honey
1/4 tsp salt
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 cup fresh or frozen corn

**You can also add some cheese or green chilies to this to add a little more flavor – although it is plenty flavorful on it’s own!

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Mix together all ingredients in a large bowl. Pour into an 8×8 prepared pan and bake for 20-25 minutes. The top should be golden brown and a tester inserted into the center should come out clean.

Enjoy!

***This cornbread makes about nine servings. Each serving is less then 100 calories!

2 thoughts on “The best cornbread

  1. Pingback: Hearty turkey chili | The Hungry Table

Leave a Reply

