Healthy chicken salad

I love chicken salad. It is probably the one unhealthy food that I still order out at restaurants even though I know it’s a bad choice. I can’t help it. Recently I looked into the calorie count for my favorite restaurant’s chicken salad and it came out to a whopping 1140 calories and 72 grams of fat. I was astounded. Shocked. Depressed. Shocked. I am still in shock over this if you can’t tell.

I needed to find a way to make this healthy – and I did! My recipe is 104 calories per serving and only 2.8 grams of fat. Crazy right? This is so delicious and is wayyyy better than my favorite restaurant version. It is also really filling! One serving of this over some spinach or on a slice of bread is the perfect lunch. The addition of mango and sliced almonds adds really great flavor and the celery adds the perfect amount of texture.

This is also something that you can make early in the week and keep in the fridge for easy lunches for work or quick weeknight dinners.

Ingredients
Serves 5-6

1 double chicken breast, cooked and diced
1 cup non-fat Greek yogurt
1 Tbl Dijon mustard
1 tsp white wine vinegar
1 tsp garlic powder
1 Tbl brown sugar
1/2 cup grapes, halved
3 Tbl sliced almonds
1/2 mango, diced
2 stalks of celery, diced
salt/pepper

Combine yogurt, mustard, vinegar, sugar, and garlic powder in a bowl. Add in all other ingredients and toss to coat. Season with salt and pepper. Chill in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes.

I served mine over some spinach with avocado but this would be great in a sandwich or just on it’s own!

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Healthy chicken salad

  1. Pingback: 15 days of sandwiches: Day 6 – Healthy tuna salad | The Hungry Table

Leave a Reply

