Baked “fried” chicken

I cannot tell you how many times a week I crave fried chicken. It must be because I lived in North Carolina for the last three years and got used to all that southern goodness. I didn’t really indulge in it that much while I lived there, but when I did – I reeeeaaly indulged. I’m talkin deep fried, greasy chicken, BBQ sauce all over my face, pure sugar sweet tea indulging.

Needless to say, I don’t eat those things in Florida. Not just because we can’t get food like that here, but because I would be huge if I did eat like that. That’s where this chicken comes into play.

It’s crispy. It’s crunchy. It’s baked?? Yup! Baked chicken that has that same crunchy texture we love from fried chicken. These are much healthier and way easier too!!

Ingredients

1 large chicken breast cut into 4 or 5 pieces
1 cup Greek yogurt (I used Chobani)
1 pinch cayenne
1 pinch paprika
1 tsp brown sugar
salt/pepper
1 cup panko breadcrumbs
1/2 cup seasoned bread crumbs
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
3 Tbl flax meal
1/2 cup parmesan cheese
Non-stick spray

In a large bowl, combine yogurt, cayneen, paprika, salt, pepper and chicken. Toss to coat and refrigerate for at least an hour.

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Place a rack on top of a baking sheet and spray the rack with non-stick spray.

In a shallow baking dish combine breadcrumbs, flour, flax, salt, pepper, and parmesan cheese. Remove pieces of chicken from yogurt mixture one at a time and coat with breadcrumb mixture. Lay onto rack. Spray the tops of each piece of chicken with more non-stick spray (this will help them get golden brown).

Bake in the oven for 12 minutes and then flip each piece of chicken. Bake for another 12 minutes. Chicken should be cooked all the way through and golden brown.

Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

